Big Sister Nominated for 2018 Inspire Award

35 Community Leaders to be honored at the 2018 Inspire Awards for Mentoring

Big Sister Esther and Little Sister Donyae

INDIANAPOLIS – College Mentors for Kids is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2018 Inspire Awards. These individuals will be honored at a luncheon on Thursday, February 22, 2018, from 12:00-1:30 pm at the JW Marriott Indianapolis. Esther Gamble, Big Sister with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Indiana is a finalist in the Youth Mentoring category. Esther has been matched with her Little Sister Donyae since 2010.

Mentor of the Year in each category will be announced at the Inspire Awards. These individuals are recognized for their commitment to mentoring in the workplace and community. They have made a difference in the careers and lives of others by providing support, advice, and guidance. One nominator said of a finalist. “He excelled at building on my strengths, helping me work on my weaknesses and giving me confidence to pursue opportunities I likely would never have pursued.”

Finalists in the youth mentoring category are making a difference in the lives of children by serving as mentors. One nominator said of a finalist, “She continues to be a source of strength and respite for [her mentee]. Her fun and compassionate personality nurtures her talents and has helped her flourish into a caring and confident young woman. She is a tremendous example of positive mentoring.”

College Mentors for Kids will also honor Jim McClelland, Executive Director for Drug Prevention, Treatment and Enforcement for the State of Indiana with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication to mentoring community and business leaders so that their futures and the future of our community can be brighter.

Award winners are chosen by selection committees chaired by the following industry leaders: Carole Veatch, The National Bank of Indianapolis-Accounting, Legal & Finance; Darren Page, Protective Insurance-Business, Retail & Services; Christia Hicks, Eskenazi Health-Health & Health Sciences; Marianna Foulkrod, University of Indianapolis-Education, Government & Nonprofit; Doug Gebhardt, F.A. Wilhelm Construction Company-Construction, Engineering & Technology; Brad Gillum, Willow Marketing-Marketing, Media & Athletics; and Jamie Johnson, Indiana Afterschool Network-Youth Mentoring.

Please visit to purchase tickets and to see a complete list of nominees.

About College Mentors for Kids, Inc:
College Mentors for Kids is a national youth mentoring nonprofit with a mission to connect college students with the most to give to kids who need it most. We fulfill our mission through our innovative mentoring program that provides weekly, afterschool, one-on-one mentoring on a college campus. College Mentors operates 33 chapters across Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, Ohio, New York, Maryland, Virginia, Missouri, and North Carolina. For more information, please visit

About the Inspire Awards:
The Inspire Awards is an annual event designed to celebrate mentoring in the workplace and community. Nominations from around the country are accepted and selection committees choose the Mentors of the Year from each category who are honored at the luncheon along with a Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree. In 2017, the event was attended by over 500 community members. All proceeds benefit College Mentors for Kids.

Related Stories